Life in a Northern Town

Just gave you an earworm, didn’t I? BWAHAHAHA…..

Almost done with my clerkship, and with that, am looking forward. I responded to two job postings last week and one this week. I also heard about Association of Ontario Midwives regional meetings, whereupon I started to rub my hands together and do more strategizing. It turns out there are six regional meetings spread out over a week and a half, and the practices I am interested in are in two different regions.

Fortunately, between me being sparing about taking days off and that the practice I’m working with is awesome, I’m able to go to both of them. One was today and one is tomorrow.

Since the meeting started at 1, I imagined a nice leisurely morning followed by a nice leisurely drive. The hospital is about an hour and a half away from where I’m currently living.

I walk out to my car and one of my tires is almost flat.

Le sigh.

Being all for maximum fuel efficiency, I’d topped up my tires about a week prior. At the time that particular tire hadn’t looked flat but had low pressure. I figured I had a slow leak that was getting faster. Meanwhile, my career awaits. So off to the gas station I went for a can of fix a flat.

I went into the gas station, which was sparsely stocked. No, they said, they don’t have fix a flat, but the garage owner would be back in a few minutes and may have an industrial sized version.

One of them walked out with me and asked if I’d picked up a nail. “No,” I said, “it just has a slow leak,” as I put my dollar piece into the air machine. Genius, that person who figured out how to get people to pay for air.

He got down on his knees, took a look, and said, “Found it!”

Yep. There was, in fact, a nail.

A few minutes later a man with a furrowed brow and oil stained overalls came back, and the Nail Locating Guy stopped him and asked if he’d be able to help me. With genuine regret he told me, “I can’t help you today, I’m in the middle of moving.”

Nonplussed, I proceeded to go back to the air machine, intending to fill up the tire and drive to another gas station. Before I left, the Nail Locating Guy came back out and asked, “Do you need this taken care of ASAP?”

“Yes,” I said. “I need to be in Markham by 1.”

“If you can go to Everett, I know a guy who can take out the nail and put a patch on the tire. It’s my fiance’s mother’s boyfriend. He has a garage he runs out of his house.”

As my head figured out the relational flowchart, he made a phone call, of which I heard, in part, “Hey, I’m trying to help out this nice lady….”

He hung up and said, “Ok, he says he can do it now and for $10, and here’s his address….”

I thanked him profusely and started driving to Everett.

I’m glad I wrote down the address, because it looked like I was driving into a residential neighborhood. I turned into a driveway where three guys were sitting in an impeccably organized garage.

Ten minutes later I was driving away, nail gone, tire patched. He waved me away when I pulled out a $20 bill, saying he didn’t have any change. More profuse thanks from me.

And still more profuse thanks to God, the Universe, Fate, Karma, and the Leprechaun On My Shoulder.

This day could have been much yuckier and much more anxiety ridden. Instead I saw the best part of life in a small town. I certainly don’t think this type of kindness can’t happen in big cities-kindness begets kindness, after all. But this event was the most important part of my day.

Since I know some of you want to hear about the meeting, it was quite good. Small enough for me to attempt to carve names and faces into my memory, and with enough familiar faces for me to be comfortable: two of the midwives from the group I’m working with, and the midwife I stayed with back in November. I introduced myself to the practice director of the hospital hosting the event-which sounds like midwife nirvana. They don’t currently have a job posting, but at this point I just want to scatter my name and resume in as many places as possible.

Tomorrow’s meeting is the one where the three practices I’ve applied to are, so it’s likely to feel a bit more loaded. But, in general, I trust the process, the same process that’s allowed my career to unfold in the organic way that it has, every step of the way. It’s helping a lot to stay in gratitude, to remember that through every twist and turn, things have a funny way of working out for me. I just need to keep moving forward.

And now, earworm removal:

You’re welcome.

This entry was posted in Career moves, How did I get here?, Warm and fuzzy stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

