“Why did you decide to become a midwife?”

This is one of my favorite questions in consultation visits. Sort of. Because I need to thin slice who’s sitting across from me and figure out how woo-woo I can get with them. And since we’re in the blogosphere, I’ll go woo-woo all the way.

I can’t say I “decided”.

I once read, “You don’t become an artist, you discover you are one.”

That applies to me, just replace “artist” with “midwife”.

I was fascinated with pregnant women when I was 5. I wanted to be an OB/GYN when I was 12. I went to a four year nursing program thinking I’d get to med school eventually.

Instead, in my first semster, one of my advisors steered me towards doing a paper about midwives. That paper was one of the most effortless assignments I did that year, because a light bulb turned on and a candle got lit. THIS is what I want to do. And I could finally see where that fishhook in my mind was leading me.

How many more metaphors can I pack into this? 🙂

I consider myself incredibly lucky that I knew what I wanted to do with my life by the time I was 19. Though the “with my life” part may be a bit of an overstatement. What 19 year old can make a decision about life? I just went where I felt led, with an unswerving certainty that had very little to do with confidence. I just knew.

That knowing will be a recurring theme in posts to come.

This entry was posted in How did I get here?. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Why did you decide to become a midwife?”

  1. Jessica says:

    Hooray! I ❤ woo-woo. Looking forward to all your stories.

Leave a Reply

