Hello world!

You know those parents that act like their baby is the very first baby ever born in the history of the world?

I’m TOTALLY gonna be like that with my blog.

The concept of blogging confounded me for the longest time. Huh? Put your life and your thoughts out there for the world to see? No thanks.

Last year the Facebook bug bit me, and sending out sound bites from my brain to the FB universe was FUN. Sometimes it’s funny observations on life, sometimes it’s a deep thought, sometimes it’s a
sneaky hate spiral thought that I have to get out of my head if only to see how ridiculous it is.

Now I’m ready to impose my opinion on the world.

It’s going to be one of those professional-but-personal blogs. It’s mostly going to be about work, but there’s going to be lots of me in it. Can’t help it.

Some necessary disclaimers:

I am not your healthcare provider. Unless I am, in which case, talk to me. Anyway, don’t take what I say as medical advice. Unless I’m your health care provider.

My opinions have not been tested or approved by the FDA, the church, and DEFINITELY not ACOG.

I will likely write disparagingly about generics, like the state of maternity care in our fine country, but not about individuals. Any rants will be of the sort that the name doesn’t really matter, because bad crap happens everywhere, and the problem is systematic.

It’s my aim to post once a week or so; if it’s less than that, you guessed it, I’m probably at a birth or recovering from one. Accordingly, sometimes I may get lazy and repost a story I’ve posted somewhere else.

I have ten years of experience as a midwife and five as a nurse prior to that. Details of births and women and families will be deliberately scrambled. Typically the story is making a certain point, and is not intended to reveal anythng personal about any one woman or birth. If you recognize some of your story in a post, chances are good that yours is not the only time I’ve encountered that specific situation.

If your story IS fantastically unique in some way, I will ask permission before I post it.

I may swear now and then.

For my completely computer savvy wonderpeople in my life, please be patient as my blog evolves-I’ve got someone to help me trick it out!

Anyway…onward….

Stuff I plan to write about:

How A Woman’s Place came to be (it’s quite an Oprah story!)
Cool midwife tricks (subtitle: “we almost went to the hospital, but then we did some stuff and the baby came out!”)
Funny toddler stories
Poignant stories of how awesome women are

I’m taking suggestions!!

Big hugs to all-
Jen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello world!

  1. D says:

    I’ve been blogging since 2003, welcome to the world of blogs. 🙂

  2. Kim S says:

    Welcome to the world of blogging. Another “new” blog that I have recently discovered: http://midwifethinking.com and I think you might like it.

    Added you to my google reader. 🙂

  3. Deb Jennings says:

    Can’t wait to read what you have to say next!

Leave a Reply

